ALMOST ADULTERY

What do I do with your love?
I can’t wear it on my sleeve
Or take it with me.
I can’t tell the world
Neither can I tell me.

In company, like disturbed dandruff, it shows
Embarrassed, I brush it away
And hope my shiny black
Monotone heart shows through.

It’s a gift too late
And as I rip and rip
The shiny wrapping paper
It sits there
Looking at me with warm waiting eyes
Promising a world, with nothing in it.

Published by

theunopenedbottle

v.k. arathi menon. wordsmith. traveller. single malt lover. book devourer. humour seeker. sometimes humble pie eater. tweets @unopenedbottle. columnist livemint.com http://www.livemint.com/Opinion/PWaDWsGY25TAwzU3R92ZRK/DANCING-DIVORCEE-The-beginning-of-the-end.html

10 thoughts on “ALMOST ADULTERY”

  1. absolute love is absolute creatitivity!!! that mind says it all…. were the dandruff on lysergic diethylamide???lol maybe overdosed on the microns….. super stuff!!!

  2. a mother-comment for all the posts – amazing stuff. read through all of them at a stretch.

    love the imagery, the bawdiness, the use of the profane to convey the profound.

    true wordsmithy. will be back for more.

  3. ‘Almost’ adultery? Sounds more like the regret experienced once the inital elation of the illicit affair has worn off, and the desire for more than just goose-bumps and shivers-down-the-spine, begins to spark off a disturbing realization that the love that promised to set you free, was actually confining you to the shadows.

    Then again, bloody long for a title.. On second thought, ‘Almost’ fits just fine 😉

Leave a comment